Dealer Information

Honda West

55 Glenbrook Place SW
Buyer Reviews: 43
Calgary, Alberta
Average Discount: $3,255
Rated 8.6 out of 10

New Accord Cpe PricesYear
Buyer
Reviews
Dealer
Discount
2008
2
$4,000
 
    
    
    
  
Winston from Burnaby, BC reported on Tuesday, June 17, 2008, buying a 2008 Honda Accord Cpe, and saving $4,000 off of MSRP.
 
M from Calgary, AB reported on Thursday, August 28, 2008, buying a 2008 Honda Accord Cpe, and saving $4,000 off of MSRP.
 
New Accord Sdn PricesYear
Buyer
Reviews
Dealer
Discount
2008
3
$5,000
 
    
    
    
  
Paul from Calgary, AB reported on Monday, July 21, 2008, buying a 2008 Honda Accord Sdn, and saving $6,000 off of MSRP.
Ask a friend about their experience with the car and the dealer if you can. The report is valuable information for the buyer to start negotiating. This particular dealer offered the dealer cost at the start which was confirmed with the report.This provided some level of trust, but discussing a purchase with another dealer also helped to narrow in on the best price.
 
Carol from Canmore, AB reported on Sunday, August 31, 2008, buying a 2008 Honda Accord Sdn, and saving $6,000 off of MSRP.
The salesperson was very helpful and was not aggressive. He knew the cars and the competition and was very reasonable. The dealer took into account the car cost canada invoice pricing and with the listing of the rebates I did very, very well. Totally happy! We also purchased a toyota tacoma (08) from Charlesglen Toyota this weekend. The salesperson had just started so wasn''t that helpful but the business manager was. Was also able to use the carcost invoice to help get a better deal. Not as good as the Honda but still happy with the price.
 
Sue from Calgary, AB reported on Friday, February 29, 2008, buying a 2008 Honda Accord Sdn, and saving $3,000 off of MSRP.
I chatted with the car cost person online and asked the dealer for the 3% mark up they suggested and the $1500 rebate that we knew about from Car Cost
 
New Accord Sedan PricesYear
Buyer
Reviews
Dealer
Discount
2009
2
$1,500
 
    
    
    
  
Colin from Calgary, AB reported on Thursday, June 11, 2009, buying a 2009 Honda Accord Sedan, and saving $1,500 off of MSRP.
 
Anthony from Calgary, AB reported on Friday, February 27, 2009, buying a 2009 Honda Accord Sedan, and saving $1,500 off of MSRP.
 
New Civic Cpe PricesYear
Buyer
Reviews
Dealer
Discount
2009
2
$2,000
 
2008
2
$1,500
    
    
  
Wayne from Edmonton, AB reported on Sunday, December 21, 2008, buying a 2009 Honda Civic Cpe, and saving $2,000 off of MSRP.
Using CarCostCanada helped us immensely to find the dealer cost of our new Honda Civic. Walking into the dealership with this knowledge, we felt assured the price we paid was fair. With Japanese Vehicles, at most Dealers when asked if we could do better on the price, their response was always "What you See, is What you Pay". Not any more, we saved nearly $1700. We purchased our Honda at Honda West in Calgary, and would highly recommend this dealership to anyone looking for a new Honda. (9 out of 10) Way to go CarCostCanada! Wayne
 
Pierre from Calgary, AB reported on Tuesday, November 24, 2009, buying a 2009 Honda Civic Cpe, and saving $2,000 off of MSRP.
 
Karim from Calgary, AB reported on Friday, September 05, 2008, buying a 2008 Honda Civic Cpe, and saving $1,000 off of MSRP.
Frankly, I was told at 3 Honda Dealerships that they don't accept the pricing quoted by CarCost. Most were only willing to budge by $300. I got a better deal because Honda Canada had a $888 off any car sale when I was purchasing.
 
Jan from Calgary, AB reported on Monday, December 29, 2008, buying a 2008 Honda Civic Cpe, and saving $2,000 off of MSRP.
The salesman saw that I had done my research on Car Cost Canada, and immediately offered car at 4.5% over the dealer cost (less rebates). Doing the research definitely increased my confidence when walking into the dealership.
 
New Civic Sdn PricesYear
Buyer
Reviews
Dealer
Discount
2010
2
$1,750
 
2009
2
$1,000
2008
3
$1,333
    
  
Noel from Calgary, AB reported on Sunday, March 28, 2010, buying a 2010 Honda Civic Sdn, and saving $1,000 off of MSRP.
Researched 8 vehicles in total and decided on Honda Civic Sedan EX-L for quality- reputation- safety-economy-style. I liked this vehicle more than the others. Great finance rate of 0.9% for 60 months- Other dealer tried to hide $800 worth of costs saying they had to put in a block heater and that's why the website calculator and their monthly payments do not match (out by over $20 per month for 60 months). Honda West did not attempt to do this. They also went out of their way to give me rides- come to my home to complete paperwork without me asking. My parents purchased there 6 months back also had positive experience.
 
Larry from Calgary, AB reported on Sunday, February 28, 2010, buying a 2010 Honda Civic Sdn, and saving $2,500 off of MSRP.
I used the assistance of CarCostCanada's - Mike Sarrazin - who was outstanding in obtaining an amazing hassle-free price for me.
 
Horace from Calgary, AB reported on Monday, June 22, 2009, buying a 2009 Honda Civic Sdn, and saving $500 off of MSRP.
 
dominic from calgary, AB reported on Sunday, November 23, 2008, buying a 2009 Honda Civic Sdn, and saving $1,500 off of MSRP.
Going Monday or Tuesday helped. Negotiating with the car cost report helped. Do not look at the car or do the test drive at the same dealership. Show the carcost report only when you are ready to buy. Be with your spouse so they know that you are not only shopping but ready to make a decision.
 
Brian from Calgary, AB reported on Saturday, December 22, 2007, buying a 2008 Honda Civic Sdn, and saving $1,000 off of MSRP.
I told the sales rep that I wanted to pay no more than 3.5% over wholesale cost. That's what we wound up with.
 
Ernesto from Calgary, AB reported on Tuesday, December 11, 2007, buying a 2008 Honda Civic Sdn, and saving $1,000 off of MSRP.
 
Russell from Calgary, AB reported on Wednesday, November 07, 2007, buying a 2008 Honda Civic Sdn, and saving $2,000 off of MSRP.
I spoke with Ben from CarCostCanada who gave me some great tips for buying a car... Emailed the CCC report to a few dealers here in Calgary. Jocelyn from Honda West was the only one who was aware of the CarCostCanada report and ready to work with those numbers. She gave me a great deal and was fun to work with. Would surely recommend Jocelyn to anyone. Here is her contact info. Jocelyn Barton, Fleet Manager Direct line: 685-6218 Main switchboard: 249-9100 ext. 218 e-mail: Jocelyn@hondawest.ca
 
New CR-V PricesYear
Buyer
Reviews
Dealer
Discount
2009
2
$1,000
 
2008
7
$3,000
    
    
  
Joanne from Calgary, AB reported on Tuesday, December 15, 2009, buying a 2009 Honda CR-V, and saving $1,500 off of MSRP.
 
Leonardo from Calgary, AB reported on Saturday, May 16, 2009, buying a 2009 Honda CR-V, and saving $500 off of MSRP.
 
Roberta from Fort Saskatchewan, ON reported on Thursday, April 03, 2008, buying a 2008 Honda CR-V, and saving $2,000 off of MSRP.
The process went quite smoothly. Once I had the dealer cost from Car Cost Canada I emailed several dealers in the Edmonton area and Honda West in Calgary (based on a recommendation from another member on the Car Cost Canada website). I let the potential dealers know I had the dealer cost from Car Cost Canada. Anton Li from Honda West contacted me right back by email with a firm price in his email and a 30-day price guarantee. I chose to go with Honda West because of their price commitment even though I had to drive to Calgary twice to finally get my vehicle. This method worked well for me as I didn't have to go to multiple dealers and haggle over price.
 
Kenneth from Calgary, AB reported on Friday, May 02, 2008, buying a 2008 Honda CR-V, and saving $1,500 off of MSRP.
My choice of a Honda is primarily based on usage - over 14 years. I have been dealing with Honda West since 1996, and have found them to be honest, sincere, excellent in service and reliable. I have purchased 3 vehicle from them. The sales representative acknowledged and respected that I showed him my Wholesale Price Report at the beginning of our negotiation and said it told him I was interested enough to look into details of the pricing which deserved recognition.
 
Yu from Calagary, AB reported on Thursday, December 02, 2010, buying a 2008 Honda CR-V, and saving $1,500 off of MSRP.
I am thinking I should just offer the whole sale price without 5% profit left to the dealer. This is because I believe dealers usually still can get some incentives from manufacturer.
 
Struthers, from Calgary, AB reported on Saturday, January 05, 2008, buying a 2008 Honda CR-V, and saving $6,000 off of MSRP.
My wife wanted the Honda CR-V, PERIOD! The first Dealer I went to wanted to play all the old games. I sent out some email inquiries and was contacted by Honda West (Calgary) within 24 hours. The salesman was friendly, professional and did not waste time with any of the nonsense that I got from the first dealer. Honda West seemed motivated and countered my initial offer with a very reasonable price which I accepted all on the phone. I only went into the dealer to look at options and sign the sales contract. Overall a very positive experience dealing with Honda West.
 
JOHN from Calgary, AB reported on Saturday, January 26, 2008, buying a 2008 Honda CR-V, and saving $6,000 off of MSRP.
All dealers I talked to told me their "supposed" dealer cost. Honda West is the only one that was actually honest about it, based on the CarCostCanada report. Using the report, I had in mind a fair deal for both myself and the dealer and I negotiated towards that. Also, when price negotiations where complete, I also negotiated accessories ($500 value) to be tossed in at no additional cost. Right now, many dealers offer low financing rates or big rebates. Depending on your down payment, it may be more beneficial to take the rebate and finance through a third party, if they will give you a good rate. Honda West was willing to secure a very good interest from a bank on my behalf in order to be able to give the rebate and get my business.
 
Ernesto from Calgary, AB reported on Thursday, December 18, 2008, buying a 2008 Honda CR-V, and saving $1,500 off of MSRP.
 
Ernesto from Calgary, AB reported on Tuesday, November 18, 2008, buying a 2008 Honda CR-V, and saving $2,500 off of MSRP.
 
New Fit PricesYear
Buyer
Reviews
Dealer
Discount
2009
1
$1,000
 
    
    
    
  
Wellington from Edmonton, AB reported on Tuesday, December 08, 2009, buying a 2009 Honda Fit, and saving $1,000 off of MSRP.
They got the color I wanted, paid them 3% over invoice, minus factory rebate
 
New Odyssey PricesYear
Buyer
Reviews
Dealer
Discount
2010
2
$7,000
 
2009
2
$3,250
2008
3
$7,666
    
  
Corin from Calgary, AB reported on Monday, August 09, 2010, buying a 2010 Honda Odyssey, and saving $10,000 off of MSRP.
I spoke to two different sales reps at two different dealerships. I found the one willing to listen to the car-cost process and brought them back the price of $700 above dealer invoice that car-cost quoted me. I added the $6000 factory rebate and got the discount.
 
Daniel from Calgary, AB reported on Sunday, September 05, 2010, buying a 2010 Honda Odyssey, and saving $4,000 off of MSRP.
 
Janelle from Calgary, AB reported on Wednesday, October 14, 2009, buying a 2009 Honda Odyssey, and saving $4,000 off of MSRP.
 
Nigel from Calgary, AB reported on Tuesday, September 07, 2010, buying a 2009 Honda Odyssey, and saving $2,500 off of MSRP.
Once you decide on a make and model, be sure to shop around. Obvious perhaps but it still surprises me how many people don't. It is amazing the price variance between dealerships. And don't be afraid to buy outside of Calgary. Cochrane, High River etc try hard to get your business and you can still get services etc done at any dealership. If you are short on time, use email. But then follow it up with a visit or at least a phonecall. Try to negotiate with the manager or a senior salesperson as they have the most power to give you the best price without messing around. They might handball you off to a salesperson but that should only be after the deal is struck. Finally, take your carcostcanada report with you so the salesperson knows you have done your homework. I hardly had to negotiate at Honda West as the manager saw the report and gave me his best deal upfront.
 
Elisabeth from Calgary, AB reported on Tuesday, November 04, 2008, buying a 2008 Honda Odyssey, and saving $10,000 off of MSRP.
 
Myrtle from Calgary, AB reported on Monday, September 08, 2008, buying a 2008 Honda Odyssey, and saving $7,000 off of MSRP.
I mentioned that I had done research and had Car Cost Canada information, and they were very receptive and helpful.
 
Jason from Calgary, AB reported on Friday, August 22, 2008, buying a 2008 Honda Odyssey, and saving $6,000 off of MSRP.
To negotiate a fair price I started with the Wholesale Price Report and then added a 4% dealer premium over the cost of the vehicle (probably could have gotten away with 3% but I was comfortable with a 4% premium - the dealer initially wanted a 5% premium). I then added a number of options at wholesale price on top of this (towing package, roof crossbars, floor mats, hood protector). Lastly, I deducted the factory and dealer incentives to determine a final price. Negotiations were literally done in 15 minutes. The Wholesale report works well because you can use it as a starting point in your negotiations rather than negotiating off of the retail price.
 
New Pilot PricesYear
Buyer
Reviews
Dealer
Discount
2012
1
$2,500
 
2010
2
$3,000
2009
3
$5,333
2008
1
$3,000
  
Ian from Calgary, AB reported on Wednesday, January 04, 2012, buying a 2012 Honda Pilot, and saving $2,500 off of MSRP.
We had a 2008 Honda Pilot previously and were very happy with it. We decided to upgrade to the new version and have been very happy with it so far. The service at Honda West has been excellent. The Wholesale Price Report was very helpful in determining the price that we were willing to pay. If you push hard enough, you should be able to get cost +4%, you just have to be willing to sign the same day.
 
wayne from calgary, AB reported on Saturday, September 05, 2009, buying a 2010 Honda Pilot, and saving $3,000 off of MSRP.
Great experience. They even showed all their costs and we agreed to 5% over.
 
wayne from calgary, AB reported on Thursday, June 21, 2007, buying a 2010 Honda Pilot, and saving $3,000 off of MSRP.
Previously purchased at Heninger. Having knowledge of the invoice price of this vehicle allowed me to negotiate down $1,850 and 15% off accessories. Heninger also offers free oil changes for life and my purchase and service experience with them has been top notch.
 
Stephanie from Medicine Hat, AB reported on Wednesday, June 10, 2009, buying a 2009 Honda Pilot, and saving $7,000 off of MSRP.
The Honda dealership in Medicine Hat was horrible and wouldn't even bring in the vehicle we wanted. We called around in Calgary and came across Elliot at Honda West who was excellent from the start. There was never any pressure, but he kept in contact with us and was excellent.
 
Ettiene from Camrose, AB reported on Saturday, October 30, 2010, buying a 2009 Honda Pilot, and saving $5,000 off of MSRP.
 
Peter from Calgary, AB reported on Thursday, June 25, 2009, buying a 2009 Honda Pilot, and saving $4,000 off of MSRP.
 
MARTENS from Calgary, AB reported on Monday, October 01, 2007, buying a 2008 Honda Pilot, and saving $3,000 off of MSRP.
The dealership "Honda West" and Jocelyn Barton was recommended by another Car Cost Canada member who had a good experience. Honda West is about 2 km from our house. Negotiations went very well when I presented the costs in the form of an Excel spread sheet, which was considered reasonable.
 
New Ridgeline PricesYear
Buyer
Reviews
Dealer
Discount
2009
1
$2,500
 
    
    
    
  
David from Calgary, AB reported on Thursday, September 17, 2009, buying a 2009 Honda Ridgeline, and saving $2,500 off of MSRP.
 



Quick Find Tool



Build & Price Powered
by CarCostCanada.com
"Dealer Ratings" & "What Others Paid" info is based on
over 13,000 CarCostCanada Member Surveys since 2007